The Jacksonville Civic Council seeks to shape and define Jacksonville’s future as a premier national and international city with a thriving economy, vibrant civic, cultural and educational institutions, and a high quality of life for all who call it home. By formulating fact-based strategies to address the challenges that others are unwilling or unable to address, we aim to meet the needs of today and build a future marked by prosperity and success.

Our Commitment

The Jacksonville Civic Council leverages the combined talents, experience and influence of a diverse group of business and civic leaders to accomplish goals that no individual or organization in our community can achieve alone. Established in 2010 as a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization, the Civic Council brings together chief executives from the nonprofit, business and government sectors to make Jacksonville the best city it can be.

Working transparently and with no agenda, for the good of our community, the Civic Council strategically identifies crucial issues, conducts research, and identifies -- and advocates for -- solutions that will result in positive change. Our members deploy their collective resources throughout the process, remaining focused on the goal of a Jacksonville that is vibrant, growing, sustainable and responsive to the needs of its people.

Our Mission and
The 5 Pillars of Progress

The Jacksonville Civic Council has embraced five pillars in our mission to promote a fiscally responsible, economically vibrant, thriving community that offers opportunity for all its residents.


A Safe and Healthy City


Great Schools

K-12 and beyond


A Growing Economy

with a varied base of growth industries


A Standard of Operational Excellence

at all levels of government


A Fun & Energetic Community

with a strong downtown, arts, recreation, cultural, and sports environment

Our Values

The Civic Council was established to provide leadership on issues critical to the community’s long-term success. Although the organization’s structure, priorities and approach to addressing issues may change over time, the following values consistently guide us.


Leadership: Addressing critical needs and issues when no other organization has the capacity or the will to do so.

Focus: Creating an effective civic-leadership model that minimizes inefficiencies and focuses on a few critical priorities at one time in order to solve complex, long-term issues affecting Jacksonville’s quality of life and economic competitiveness.

Broad Constituency: Seeking solutions that will benefit residents and businesses at every level of our community.

Economic Opportunity: Supporting economic opportunity across race, gender, ethnic and other barriers that limit our potential as a world-class city.

Humility: Sharing ownership of ideas and credit for accomplishments. As a founding member once said, “It is amazing what you can accomplish when you are not worried about who gets the credit."

Transparency and Accountability: Using knowledge and research-based decisions to reach measurable outcomes.

Advocacy: Achieving lasting policy change through education and advocacy with policy makers and stakeholders at the local, state and federal levels.

Jacksonville Civic Council Board Members and Taskforce Chairs

Civic Council Board Members:

Douglas Baer, Brooks Health System

John Baker, FRP Holding, Inc., Florida Rock and Tank Lines

Amy Margerum Berg, The Better Angels Society

Timothy Cost CHAIRMAN, Jacksonville University

John Delaney, Rogers Towers

Robert Hill, Acosta

Matt Kane, GreenShades Software

Kelly Madden, Wells Fargo

Eric Mann, YMCA of Florida's First Coast

Cindy Stover, TD Bank

Blake Wilson, TIAA Bank

Civic Council Committees and Task Force Chairs:

Ed Burr, Greenpointe Holdings, Downtown Task Force

Gary Chartrand, Acosta, Education Task Force

Robert Hill, Acosta, Finance Committee

Kevin Hyde, Foley and Lardner, Public Finance Task Force

Rusty Newton, Timucuan Asset Management, Co-Chair Membership Committee

Peter Rummell, Rummell-Munz, Chair Pension Task Force

Cindy Stover, TD Bank, Co-Chair Membership Committee

Bobby Stein, The Regency Group, Co-Chair JEA Special Committee

Michael Ward, Co-Chair JEA Special Committee